I have definitely started thinking like an innovator both in my learning and life in general. I have had to come up with ideas on how to complete daily assignments that are left up to interpretation. I am beginning to really evaluate my past education and how I could teach in the future. Innovation in learning looks like students or people creating things and being the leader of their own learning. It is students of all ages questioning the known and paving the way on new and exciting ideas of their own. I hope to one day be an innovative educator such as George Couros. In his article, The Mindset of an Innovator, I especially like when he says, “I am an innovative educator and I will continue to ask ‘what is best for learners?'” I hope to always ask this question when thinking about my teaching. Couros also has an open mind when it comes to different perspectives and how those can better everyone.

By participating in the independent learning project, I have unlearned the idea that all school and teaching comes from a teacher telling their students what to learn when and to what extent the learning is done. I was the one in charge of my own learning, setting up when and what I would learn. I have unlearned that schools are the best way to educate children. With the way school is run today, it no longer benefits all the students. It focuses on the wrong things. I still need to unlearn that the way schools are run today is the only option and me being a traditional teacher is the only way to impact my students. I need to learn about other types of school more in depth and how I could contribute. Will Richardson’s article on The Steep Unlearning Curve has several things that we need to unlearn in order to be innovative. “We need to unlearn the idea that every student needs to learn the same content when really what they need to learn is how to self-direct their own learning.” I think this is a very important thing for all teacher to unlearn. It shows that our students are all unique just like our classrooms. We all learn differently and we all do not need to know the same information. That would make life so boring, if everyone was the same. I think my favorite thing that Richardson says we should unlearn is this: “We need to unlearn the premise that real change can happen just by rethinking what happens inside the school walls and understand that education is now a community undertaking on many different levels.” The school systems today and how society views school will have to be completely flipped upside down in order to make big change happen.

I really learned a lot from this week’s module and it is changing my thoughts on how school or learning should function in the future.

8 thoughts on “Innovation and Unlearning #diglitclass

  1. Great post Sydni on the article! I love how you incorporated how our independent learning project has helped you to unlearned the idea that all school and teaching comes from a teacher telling their students what to learn and when. Great example and overall great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have also identified with all of the characteristics that you have mentioned in your post. Isn’t it kind of crazy to look at all the ideas that need to be unlearned? I completely agree that the school system needs to be turned upside down before major changes can be made, but I feel that it needs to be done. I wonder how long it would really take to get these changes made? When looking at the things you said you need to unlearn, do you still consider yourself a “traditional teacher”?

    Like

    1. I agree, major changes need to be made. I think I would still consider myself a traditional teacher. However, I feel like if I unlearn many of my thoughts on the education system, I may become an nontraditional teacher. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I completely agree with your comment about the ILP. I was honestly really nervous about doing the project. In all actuality, it ended up being my favorite part of the class. What was your favorite part of class this semester?

    Like

Leave a Reply

