In terms of my Independent Learning Project for class, this will be my last post. I have learned so much about myself through this project. I have learned that when I am excited about my work, I enjoy completing it and am more motivated to do it. Every week, when it  was time to work on my Independent Learning Project, I got to work crocheting right away instead of procrastinating and waiting until the last minute. I learned that if I am motivated, I can learn anything I would like. Another thing that I have learned through this project is that without a set time to work on my hobbies, I tend to set them aside until my class work is done.

Most of the time, it was extremely easy to motivate myself to work on my project. With the amount of course work I have, I didn’t have much extra time besides the hour or two a week to work on my projects. I would say that one of the challenging aspects of my independent learning project was figuring out which crochet projects I would like to do.

In my opinion, the best part of this project was that I got to make gifts for people and bring a bit of happiness to other people. I got to do something that was relaxing to me. Those were the best parts. In the future, I could see myself applying some of the things I have learned to my future classroom. Something I could do in my future classroom is to have a time for students to explore their own interests. Maybe during free time. I could have a craft that involves yarn, but maybe not something like crocheting or knitting. For a young elementary classroom, I think trying to teach a whole class of six and seven year old students may be really challenging.

I did not get to some of the projects that I wanted to. That does not mean I won’t. I have the supplies to make the baby hats for the hospitals and plan on completing them in the near future. I am close to half-way done with the afghan for my father. For my brother’s birthday, I have made a bow tie, pictured below. I plan on making two more bow ties, one for each brother for Christmas. My crocheting adventure does not end because we are done with our Independent Learning Projects. I hope that I will be crocheting for many more years. Hopefully, I will also be able to keep blogging about my crocheting creations.

Here are the afghan in progress and my brother’s bow tie.

IMG_3362.JPG v         IMG_3360.JPG

2 thoughts on “Wrapping up my ILP #diglitclass

  1. Wonderful! So glad you are enjoying your new hobby. I love taking crochet projects with me on long drives and plane rides. Thread work doesn’t take up too much space, but taking afghans along keep you warm while you work. I actually kept yarn and afghan project in a handy rolling carry on suitcase while at the hospital with my husband for a week. Easy to move around and keeps your skeins upright!

    Like

    1. Thanks! I love where I have several hours where I can just crochet! I really enjoyed this independent learning project. That’s a really smart idea to keep everything in its place! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

