As children, much of our creativity involves our imagination and play. It spans from playing imagination to drawing or creating things such as crafts. Many times creative writing is not something that children just naturally do when they are young. We learn to write in school. So, naturally, we associate writing with school work instead of a creative outlet. Even if schools do encourage creative writing, many times the focus is on writing essays or speeches that are grammatically correct and worthy of an A plus grade. Writing is so much more than that. This is the reason I write.

I write to clear my head. Whether I am using sticky notes, which I use quite often to make lists, or other outlets like this blog, I can write things down. That way I do not have to worry about forgetting them. Without doing this I would be a complete disaster. I would forget meetings and appointments. I would forget who said what or information I need for assignments in my classes. In total, I would be a mess. Writing enables me to keep a clear and focused head.

I write to express myself in more than one way. I express my thoughts and feelings in a personal and creative manner or in an educational and professional manner. If something is really bothering me, I can write what I am feeling down and it helps me sort out my feelings. Writing also helps me tell my story. I can write my thoughts and emotions. I am also really shy. Writing helps express my thoughts for school in a way that does not stress me out like face to face presentations. I am able to write out my professional thoughts and ideas carefully and in the order I choose.

Writing is very important for me. It allows me to be myself or create a whole different universe just by using a pen and paper. I am able to sort out the jumble that is inside my head in a professional manner. I have a pen pal and we write handwritten letters to one another. Writing helps us connect to one another on a deeper level than simply emailing or sending text messages. Writing should be very important to every person. It is how people communicate, present knowledge, and discover things that were previously unknown. Go out and write, create, discover, live!

7803683540_76d8f5f45d_n.jpg
Photo CC- By Damian Gadal
6 thoughts on “Why I Write #tdc1747 #diglitclass

  1. Wow! I really love your post! You and I both use writing for very similar reasons! Just like you and your sticky notes, I love to make lists. I have to write down everything I need to do in a list or else I will easily either stress myself out, forget something, or a combination of both. I also use writing as a way to get my feelings out. I often write letters I never send or write down pro and con lists when I’m faced with a big life-decision.

    Like

  2. This is a wonderful post. I completely agree, writing is an outlet. I am a person who has a tendency to let emotions overtake me. When this happens, sometimes the only way to siphon the heaviness out of me is to write down what I am feeling. I’ve often find myself projecting my feelings onto characters I create in creative writing. It allows me to express the deepest parts of me, but in a way that allows me to distance myself from them. That way, I can have the luxury to analyze my thoughts without letting them overwhelm me. It sounds like you are much the same way. Good work!

    Like

  3. I love that you shared with us why you write! We are very similar in the sense that we must write to remember tidbits of information. I am a very visual person with a forgetful mind. I write notes on my hands, phone, in my planner, and have sticky notes everywhere. In addition to helping with my memory, I love reading. Reading is one of my favorite hobbies. I feel that by sharing my thoughts as a reader I will encourage others to read as well. I use my writing to be a role model for others. I love the thought of a pen pal! Where is he/she from?

    Like

  4. I have tons of sticky notes all over my desk to remember things. I too love reading! He is from home. We graduated high school together and wanted to stay in touch in a different way once we headed to college. Now we are at opposite ends of the state. I would highly recommend pen pals to everyone. Thanks for the comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

